“I was nervous and and excited at the same time”

“I was nervous and excited at the same time”

On the 29th of September, Thabo Nodada scored the winning penalty in the MTN 8 Cup final in their clash against SuperSport United at Moses Mabhida Stadium, 48 hours later he got the news that he was part of the Bafana Bafana team to take on Seychelles for a place in the Africa Cup of Nations that will be held in Cameroon in 2019.

” I was nervous and excited at the same time, a lot was on my mind about how the guys and the coach would be. I have settled and I am feeling good. The first night I met Innocent Maela and Vincent Pule at dinner, the three of us were the first ones to arrive in camp”

Bafana Bafana is in Group E with Libya, Nigeria and Seychelles. They are currently occupying the second spot with four points after two games. A win for Stuart Baxter and his troop against the Islanders in both games will put his side in a good position.

“The coach spoke briefly to me and his words made me feel easier inside, he said that If I am here it means that they have been watching me for long and that they feel I can add value to the team and that I deserve to be here”

Bafana Bafana takes on Seychelles on Saturday the 13th at 15h00 at FNB Stadium with the return leg at Stade Linite three days later.

“My first session with the team was good, I was a bit nervous at first but the more we played the more I got the hang of things”

Baxter will be hoping to seal his side’s qualification to Africa’s biggest cup competition with positive results against Seychelles.

Bafana Squad:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits).

Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha, Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United), Thulani Hlatshwayo, Buhle Mkwanazi, S’Fiso Hlanti (Wits), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates).

Midfielders: Dean Furman, Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport), Lebogang Maboe, Hlompho Kekana, Sibusiso Vilakazi (Sundowns), Thabo Nodada (Cape Town City), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford), Vincent Pule (Pirates).

Strikers: Lebogang Phiri (Guingamp, France), Dino Ndlovu (Hangzhou, China), Percy Tau (Royal Union, Belgium), Lebo Mothiba (Racing Strasbourg, France), Phakamani Mahlambi (Sundowns)

Author: Dumisani Koyana

Leave a Reply